Conference Banner, Bridging Opportunities: We are known by the tracks we leave - June 7-9, 2017

Award Recipients

Arthur A. Fletcher Lifetime Achievement Award

The award recognizes a lifetime of achievement promoting and advocating for affirmative action, EEO and diversity

Rep. James E. Cleburne (2016)
Dr. Walter J. Leonard (posthumously) (2016)
James S. Hoyte, Esq. (2015)
Dr. Louis Dale (2014)
Joe R. Feagin, Ph.D. (2013)
John A. Payton (posthumously) (2012)
William H. Brown, III Esq. (2011)
Reverend Jesse L. Jackson, Sr. (2009)
Wade Henderson, Leadership Conference on Civil Rights (2008)
Cynthia Nance, Dean, University of Arkansas School of Law(2007)
Frank Wu, Dean, Wayne State University School of Law(2007)
Julianne Malveaux, Last Word Productions (2006)


Cesar Estrada Chavez Award

The award recognizes an individual who has demonstrated leadership in support of workers' rights and humanitarian issues.

Dr. Havidán Rodríguez (2016)
Dr. Marie T. Mora (2015)
John Gonzalez (2014)
John Quiñones (2013)
Hon. Charles A. Gonzalez (D-TX) (2012)
José D. Alcántara, Esq. (2011)
Cheryl Queen and Rick Stone, Compass Group North America (2010)
Dr. Juan Andrade (2009)
Raphael Olmeda (2008)
Henry Cisneros(2007)
Gil Casellas (2006)
Jesse I. Vialpando
Anna R. Cablik
Luis V. Gutierrez

Rosa Parks Award

The award recognizes an individual who serves as a role model and leader for others through their personal achievements, excellence in a chosen field; commitment to human, civil rights and social issues and contributions to the betterment of society.


Rep. Sheila Jackson Lee (2016)
Ruby Bridges Hall (2015)
Betty Harmon Newcomb (2013)
Tim Wise (2012)
Wanda Sloan (2011)
Major General Joseph A. McNeil (2010)
Franklin E. McCain, Sr. (2010)
Jibreel Khazan (2010)
Thomas "TNT" Todd, Esq. (2009)
Littleton P. Mitchell (2008)
Darlene Grant (2007)
Shirley J. Wilcher (2006)
Hon. Tyrone Brooks (2005)
Shanta Driver (2004)


The Edward M. Kennedy Community Service Award

Presented to an individual or organization demonstrating outstanding community service.

Wright State University (2016)
Georgia State University (2015)
The Honorable Kathleen Martinez (2014)
The Honorable Julian Castro (2013)
Washington Area Women's Foundation (2012)
Nadine Vogel (2011)
JAN (Job Accommodation Network) (2010)
Military Missions in Action (2010)
Tannette Johnson-Elie, Milwaukee Journal-Sentinel (2009)
The Hon. Stuart J. Ishimaru (2008)
Lilly Ledbetter (2008)
Theodore "Ted" Shaw (2008)
PeopleClick, Metairie, La. Office (2007)
Reverend Samuel "Billy" Kyles
Michael Langford

Champion of Diversity Award

Given to an organization or corporation for outstanding achievements in promoting diversity in the workforce.

Northrup Grumman (2016)
Cox Communications, Southeast (2015)
Texas Tech University (2014)
Rockwell Collins (2013)
Pepco Holdings, Inc. (2012)
Inclusion & Diversity Council, City of Virginia Beach, VA (2012)
Luke Visconti, DiversityInc (2011)
RiseSmart, San Jose, CA (2010)
IBM (2009)

The President’s Award

Presented to a member(s) who has made an outstanding service contribution to the Association.

Richard Baker, M.A., J.D., Ph.D. (2015)
Gregory Chambers (2015)
Inderdeep Chatrath, Ph.D. (2015)
Robert “Bob” Gregg, Esq. (2015)
William B. Harvey, Ph.D. (2015)
Marilynn Schuyler, Esq. (2015)

Gazella Ann Granger Summit (2014)
Everett Winters (2014)
Paul Bayless (2014)
Beth Wilson (2014)
Ismael Rivera (2014)
ReNee Dunman (2014)
Pat Parrish (2014)
Huda Melky (2014)

Marilynn Schuyler, Esq. (2013)
Dean Sparlin, Esq. (2013)
Matthew Camardella, Esq. (2013)
David Goldstein, Esq.  (2013)
Shirley J. Wilcher, J.D., CAAP (2013)
Tammy Currie (2013)

Kimberly Reeves (2012)
John Gonzalez (2012)
ReNee' Dunman (2012)
Marshall Rose (2012)
Jo Bennett (2012)
Inderdeep Chatrath (2012)

Joni Baker (2011)
Karen Boyd (2011)
Joyce Pratt (2011)
Dean Sparlin (2011)

John Gonzalez (2010)

Deborah Burris (2009)
Alvin Bingham (2009)
Jacqueline Johnson (2009)

Matthew J. Camardella, Esq. (2008)
Jackson Lewis LLP (Long Island)

Ernie Santos De-Jesus (2008)
Diversity Initiatives & Affirmative
University of Maryland University College

Melvin Williams (2007)
Director OEOD
Univ. of Texas Medical Branch-Galveston

Michael G. Cooper (2006)
Director of Equal Opportunity
Georgia Department of Transportation

Phyllis J. Powell (2005)
Affirmative Action Officer
Central Michigan University

Everett Winters (2004)
Executive Assistant to the President & Director of Affirmative Action
Southern Methodist University

Lillian L. Charleston
Affirmative Action Officer
Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis 

Rosa Colquitt, Ph.D.
Special Assistant to the Provost Oregon Health & Science University

The Drum Major for Justice Award

A special acknowledgement of the extraordinary contributions that an organization or individual, including a public servant or one who has held an elective office or appointment to public service, has made to the cause of equity, access and diversity.

Rep. G. K. Butterfield (2016)
Dr. Norman C. Francis (2015)
Rev. James Morris Lawson (2014)
Albert Kauffman (2013)
Vice President Joseph R. Biden (2012)
Flonzie Brown Wright (2011)
James H. Johnson, Jr., Ph.D. (2010)
Coalition to Defend Affirmative Action, Integration & Immigrants’ Rights and Fight for Equality by Any Means Necessary (BAMN) (2009)
Shirley J. Wilcher (2009)
Honorable Augustus F. Hawkins (Posthumously) (2008)
Honorable Parren J. Mitchell (Posthumously) (2008)